Is this a scam or could it be legitimate?
Question : Is this a scam or could it be legitimate?
I’m trying to sell my car, and this person wants it to be shipped overseas. Here is the message:
Hello,
Thanks for your mail,We prefe email because of our office records,My client issued out a chashier’s check of $ 8,000.00 USD before he travel to UK for medical treatment,so the amount on the check is for the all expense both the cost of your vehicle and shipping of it with order tax charges.
You are required to deduct cost of your property , $ 3,600 when payment gets to you and refund balance $ 4,400 to my client’s shipper/agent via moneygram/western union transfer for him to be able to offset shipping
charges, and tax. After payment has reached you and balance sent to the
shipper/agent, they will then come for inspection and pick up of the
property. While title paper/other necessary documents will be signed and
picked by the agent. Confirm this whole arrangement and provide your FULL
NAME, ADDRESS and PHONE NUMBER for the check payment to be delivered to you via courier service.
property inspection services
Best answer:
Answer by sunshine_today
this is a scam!
It’s the Nigerian scam, regardless of where it’s coming out of– check out www.craigslist.org and they even have links about the same thing happening to people selling their vehicles on craigslist.
don’t give them any info and don’t contact them again.
Run! Run like the wind!!!!!